Don't Miss
Home / Private Investigator License – Nevada

Private Investigator License – Nevada

Private Investigator Licensing – State of Nevada

https://nevadapilb.glsuite.us/

https://nevadapilb.glsuite.us/Clients/NVPI/Public/Documents/LicensingApplication.pdf

The purpose of the Private Investigators Licensing Board is to license private investigators, private patrolmen, process servers, repossessors, dog handlers, security consultants, polygraphic examiners and interns. Chapter 648 of Nevada Revised Statutes mandates the Board to regulate the standards of conduct for these professions in order to protect the public safety and general welfare of the people of this state. This agency is responsible for conducting background investigations on applicants, administering compliance audits of licensees, preparing disciplinary matters for Board review and investigating various complaints of misconduct of a licensee or unlicensed activity. This agency is pro-active in promoting effective regulation and enforcement; provides training and education to our licensees as well as the general public; and is focused on eliminating unlicensed activity.

Board membership consists of a licensed private investigator, a licensed private patrolman, a licensed polygraph examiner and two members of the general public, one from northern Nevada and one from southern Nevada. The Board elects one of its members as chairman who serves a two year term.

The Board office is located at:

         704 W. Nye Lane
Suite 203
Carson City, Nevada 89703
(775) 687-3223
(775) 687-3226 (fax)
pilbinfo@ag.nv.gov
         3110 S. Durango Drive
Suite 202
Las Vegas, Nevada 89117
(702) 486-3003
(702) 486-3009 (fax)

PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR
Licensing Information
NRS 648.012 “Private investigator” defined. “Private investigator” means any person
who for any consideration engages in business or accepts employment to furnish, or
agrees to make or makes any investigation for the purpose of obtaining, information
with reference to:
1. The identity, habits, conduct, business, occupation, honesty, integrity, credibility,
knowledge, trustworthiness, efficiency, loyalty, activity, movement, whereabouts,
affiliations, associations, transactions, acts, reputation or character of any person;
2. The location, disposition or recovery of lost or stolen property;
3. The cause or responsibility for fires, libels, losses, accidents or damage or injury to
persons or to property;
4. Securing evidence to be used before any court, board, officer or investigating
committee; or,
5. The prevention, detection and removal of surreptitiously installed devices for
eavesdropping or observation.
Private Investigator – Individual/Qualified Agent
Requirements:
 Be 21 years of age.
 Be a citizen of the United States or lawfully entitled to remain and work in the
United States.
 Be of good moral character and temperate habits.
 Have no conviction of a felony or a crime involving moral turpitude or the
illegal use or possession of a dangerous weapon.
 Undergo a criminal history background check through the Federal Bureau of
Investigation (FBI), the Nevada Department of Public Safety (DPS) and
California Department of Justice (CDOJ) if you have lived in or ever visited
the State of California.
 Have 5 years (2,000 hours each year, totaling 10,000 hours) of investigative
experience. An associate’s degree in Police Science or Criminal Justice is the
equivalent of 8 months or 1,333 hours, and a Bachelor’s Degree in Police
Science or Criminal Justice is the equivalent of 18 months or 3000 hours of
experience. Experience must be certified by your employer on the forms
provided in the application. Page 2
 Pass a two-hour written exam consisting of 100 questions with a score of 75%
or better.
Fees:
 Application Processing Fee – Non-refundable $20 per application. Access
online at our website: http://nevadapilb.glsuite.us Choose Applicants at the
top of the page. Choose the application you wish to complete under
Applications on the left side of the page.
 Background Investigation Deposit — An applicant shall deposit with the board
at the time of making an initial application for any license a fee of $750 for
the first category of license and $250 for each additional category of license
for which application is made, which must be applied to the cost of
conducting the investigation. An individual applicant who is a resident of
Nevada is liable for the entire cost of the investigation up to a maximum cost
of $1,500 for the first category of license and $500 for each additional
category of license for which application is made. A corporate applicant or
an individual applicant who is not a resident of Nevada is liable for the entire
cost of the investigation. The same applies for corporate applicants;
however, there is no cap on the cost of the investigation.
 Examination – $100 per category – non-refundable
 Abeyance Fee – $ 100.00 – per license – per year
 Initial licensing – $500 – pro-rated
 Annual License Renewal – $500.00 – per license – per year
Insurance
NRS 648.135 Licensee to maintain insurance or act as self-insurer; minimum limits of
liability; proof.
1. Before issuing any license or annual renewal thereof, the board shall require
satisfactory proof that the applicant or licensee:
(a) Is covered by a policy of insurance for protection against liability to third persons,
with limits of liability in amounts not less than $200,000, written by an insurance company
authorized to do business in this state; or
(b) Possesses and will continue to possess sufficient means to act as a self-insurer
against that liability.
2. Every licensee shall maintain the policy of insurance or self-insurance required by
this section. The license of every such licensee is automatically suspended 10 days after
receipt by the licensee of notice from the board that the required insurance is not in
effect, unless satisfactory proof of insurance is provided to the board within that period.
3. Proof of insurance or self-insurance must be in such a form as the board may
require.
Corporate Licensing
NRS 648.065 Licensing of persons engaged in various occupations on July 1, 1967.
3. If the applicant is a corporation: Page 3
(a) The application must be signed and verified by the president, the secretary and
the treasurer thereof, and must specify:
(1) The name of the corporation.
(2) The date and place of its incorporation.
(3) The amount of the corporation’s outstanding paid-up capital stock.
(4) Whether this stock was paid for in cash or property, and if in property, the
nature and description of the property.
(5) The name of the person or persons affiliated with the corporation who
possess the qualifications required for a license under this chapter.
(b) The application must be accompanied by a certified copy of the corporation’s
certificate of incorporation together with a certification from the secretary of state that
the corporation is in good standing and, if the corporation is a foreign corporation, a
certification from the secretary of state that the corporation is qualified to do business in
this state.
(c) The successor to every such officer or a director shall, before entering upon the
discharge of his duties, sign and verify a like statement, approved in like manner as this
chapter prescribes for an individual signatory to an application and shall transmit the
statement to the board.
(d) In the event of the death, resignation or removal of such an officer or a director,
notice of that fact must be given in writing to the board within 10 days after the death,
resignation or removal. The board shall conduct such an investigation of the successor
pursuant to NRS 648.100 as it deems necessary to verify the successor’s qualifications.
NAC 648.230 Application by corporation.
1. If an applicant is a corporation, a background biography and a standard Federal
Bureau of Investigation fingerprint card for each of the three principal officers of the
corporation must be submitted with the application.
2. If the applicant is a corporation which is owned by a holding company or is a
wholly-owned subsidiary of another corporation, a background biography and
fingerprint card must be submitted for each of the three principal officers of the holding
company or parent corporation.
NOTE: Licensing fees are for fiscal year beginning July 1 and are pro-rated by month if
received after that date.
Exam Dates: January, April, July and October
Board Meetings: March, June, September and December
Upon completion of the application and receipt of all requested information,
documents and monies, you will be notified of the exam date. A background
investigation will be conducted and you will be notified of the time and date of the
Board hearing.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

Scroll To Top