Florida Private Investigator License
The sunshine state is a great place to set up a private investigation company. A Florida private investigator license provides the licensee with the chance to work with many law firms, insurance companies and corporations. Florida is full of major cities like Miami, Orlando, Tampa Bay, Pensacola, Fort Lauderdale and more. Clients in Florida need the services of private investigators for things like surveillance, asset research, interviews, process service, background checks and much more.
The state of Florida requires a license for anyone interested in offering private investigator services in the state. In order to obtain a Florida Private Investigator Class C Individual License, applicants must meet the following qualifications:
- Applicants must have 2 years of lawfully gained, verifiable, full-time experience (the experience can be gained from investigative work experience or education)
- The applicant must also pass a written examination
- Must be at least 18 years of age
- Be of good moral character
- Not have been adjudicated as incapacitated from a mental illness
- Not be a chronic or habitual user of alcohol
- Not having been committed for chronic substance abuse or having been convicted of a crime related to substance abuse
- Be a United States Citizen or permanent resident
- Not be prohibited from possessing a firearm by state or federal statute
In order to obtain a Florida Private Investigator License, applicants must pay a $100 examination fee, a $50 application fee, a $42 fingerprint processing fee and a $75 license fee.
For more information on how to obtain a Florida Private Investigator License, click here. Investigators must renew their license every two years in the state of Florida.