Connecticut Private Investigator License
Nestled in the heart of New England opportunities abound for private investigators in Connecticut. A Connecticut Private Investigator License permits the licensee to conduct investigations throughout the state and in major metropolitan areas like Hartford, Bridgeport, New Haven, Stamford and more. Connecticut private investigators will have the opportunity to market services to a wide range of law firms, insurance companies and corporations. Many manufacturing companies need the services of Connecticut Private Investigators.
To become a private investigator in the state of Connecticut, you must obtain a license. The following requirements must be met to obtain a Connecticut Private Investigator License:
- Applicant must be at least 25 years of age
- Have good moral character
- Possess at least 5 years of full-time experience as a licensed private detective, private investigator, 5 years of experience as a detective with a local, state or federal law enforcement agency or have had 10 years of experience as a police officer with a local, state or federal agency
- The commissioner may, at his discretion, substitute applicable education to substitute for 1 year of required experience
- Post a $10,000 surety bond
- Provide proof of $300,000 general liability insurance
The initial license fee for an individual is $1,450 for the initial 2-year license and $625 for subsequent 2-year license renewals. The fee for an initial corporation license is $1,750 and $1,000 for subsequent 2-year license renewals.
For more information obtaining a Connecticut Private Investigator License, click here.