Don't Miss
Home / Private Investigator License – Colorado

Private Investigator License – Colorado

Colorado Private Investigator License

Colorado is the land of the Rockies and a great place to embark on a career as a private investigator. Major cities in Colorado like Denver, Boulder, Colorado Springs, Loveland, Fort Collins, Golden and Durango are all great places to establish a thriving private investigation business. While the Front Range has many of the most populated cities, there is significant demand for quality private investigators on the back slope. The lifestyle and climate of Colorado make it a great place for a private investigator who enjoys leisure activities in the outdoors to set up their business. Private investigators provide a full range of services to include surveillance, interviews, background checks, asset research, theft investigations and much more.

Licensure in the state of Colorado was not required until recently. A voluntary license was available for some time, however as of June 1, 2015, anyone interested in offering services as a private investigator in Colorado must have a valid license issued by the state.

The state of Colorado issues two levels of private investigator licenses. To be licensed in the state of Colorado with a Level I license, the applicant must meet the following qualifications:

  • Be at least 21 years of age
  • Be lawfully present in the United States
  • Take and pass a jurisprudence exam to demonstrate knowledge and understanding of the laws and rules affecting the ethics and activities of private investigators
  • Undergo a state and national fingerprint-based criminal background check. The applicant, at their own cost, shall have their fingerprints taken by a local law enforcement agency to be submitted to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation
  • The applicant attests to obtain and maintain a surety bond in the minimum amount described in Rule 4

To be licensed in Colorado as a Level II Private Investigator, an applicant must meet the following qualifications:

  • Be at least 21 years of age
  • Be lawfully present in the United States
  • Take and pass a jurisprudence exam to demonstrate knowledge and understanding of the laws and rules affecting the ethics and activities of private investigators
  • Undergo a state and national fingerprint-based criminal background check. The applicant, at their own cost, shall have their fingerprints taken by a local law enforcement agency to be submitted to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation
  • The applicant attests to obtain and maintain a surety bond in the minimum amount described in Rule 4
  • Attest to having at least 4,000 hours of applicable experience in one of the following fields: a private investigator or private detective, conducting investigations with a local, state or federal law enforcement agency, or by proof of education where an associate’s degree counts for 1,000 hours of experience, a bachelor’s degree counts for 2,000 hours of experience and a master’s degree or juris doctorate counts for 3,000 hours of experience

The license application fee for a Level I or Level II license in the state of Colorado is $330.

To learn more about the application process in the state of Colorado, click here.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

Scroll To Top