Arkansas Private Investigator License
Arkansas is home to the heart of the Ozark region and a great place to consider a career as a private investigator. Major cities in Arkansas like Little Rock, Fort Smith and Fayetteville are all cities with law firms and larger corporations who need investigative services from private investigators. Private Investigators provide a full range of services to include surveillance, interviews, background checks, asset research, theft investigations and much more.
To become a private investigator in Arkansas, a license is required by the state. Arkansas offers two classifications of private investigator license. The Class A license is an Investigations Company license and requires an initial fee of $450. Renewal fees for this license type are $150. Individuals who wish to be licensed as private investigators in the state of Arkansas and who have no additional employees may obtain a Class D license. The Class D license allows just the individual to operate as a private investigator. The Class D license application fee is $225 and the renewal fee is $75.
To qualify for either license in Arkansas, the applicant must meet the following qualifications:
- Be at least 21 years of age
- Be a high school graduate or its equivalent
- Not have been found guilty of or pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to any: felony, Class A misdemeanor, crime involving an act of violence, or any crime involving moral turpitude in any court in the State of Arkansas for which a pardon has not been granted; Felony, Class A misdemeanor or any offense of a comparable level, crime involving an act of violence, or any crime involving moral turpitude in a military or federal court for which a pardon has not been granted; or a felony, Class A misdemeanor or any offense of a comparable level, crime involving an act of violence, or any crime involving moral turpitude in any court in another state for which a pardon has not been granted.
- Not have been declared by any court of competent jurisdiction incompetent by reason of mental defect or disease and not have been restored
- Not be suffering from habitual drunkenness or from narcotics addiction or dependence
- Not have been discharged from the armed services of the United States under other than honorable conditions
- Be of good moral character
- Be in compliance with any other reasonable qualifications that the board may fix by rule
- Applicants also must have two consecutive years experience in investigations prior to the date of application as an agent, employee, manager, or owner of an investigations company
- Applicants must demonstrate their qualifications by successfully completing an examination on the following: the provisions of this chapter and its rules and regulations, field note taking and report writing, and Arkansas Criminal Code. Successful completion of the examination shall consist of making a minimum score of 70%.
- Applicants must also submit to and pass a criminal background check administered by the state of Arkansas
To learn more about the application process to obtain an Arkansas Private Investigator License, click here.
Being a licensed private investigator in Arkansas also provides for licensed investigators from the states of Tennessee, Louisiana, and Oklahoma. Private investigators licensed from these states for at least two consecutive years can automatically qualify for a license in Arkansas.